‘Do you know?.. the speed at which cherry blossoms fall?..’

5Centimeters

Today i felt like talking about one of my all time favorite anime flicks called 5 Centimeters Per Second. The story follows two childhood friends Akari and Tohno that are separated when Akari’s parents move to another city. They promise to write letters to each other but eventually grow distant.  A few years later, Tohno learns that he will be relocating with his family to another city and visits Akari  since he thinks this will be the last time they shall ever meet again.

In a nutshell this is a story about two peoples’ growing distances. The quotes used in this flick are heart wrenching, yet for some reason, something we can all relate to.  Here’s a few of my favorite quotes..

tumblr_m7qh9sEsS21qegoawo1_500

‘Every minute felt like an eternity time, clearly as if it had malicious intent, slowly ebbing away from me. I clenched my teeth, and keeping myself from crying was the only thing I could do… ‘~Tono Takaki.

‘Even now, I still love you… but I’m sure that even if we had written 1,000 messages back and forth… our hearts probably wouldn’t have moved even 1 centimeter closer.’~Tono Takaki.

And my most favorite..

‘Do you know? The speed at which cherry blossoms fall… 5 centimeters per second. At what speed must I live… to be able to see you again? ‘~Tono Takaki

snapshot20070722121843

This story appeals to me because it seems realistic. Haven’t we all had someone we used to be close to and held on to a fleeting ghost of their memories despite all the space in between?

Published by

Marium

accordingtomarium.wordpress.com

2 thoughts on “‘Do you know?.. the speed at which cherry blossoms fall?..’”

    1. I think it was bound to happen. He was running after the shadow of this person. It was more about “what could have been” than what he already had. Unrealistic expectations lead to unhappiness.

Leave a Reply

